Scott Shelar President & CEO scott.shelar@cefga.org

Scott has held many different jobs throughout his life, including paper boy on the icy roads of Washington D.C.; lifeguard on the sunny beaches of St. Augustine, Florida; sports writer under the bright lights of high school football in South Georgia; and communications manager for the Atlanta Paralympic Games.

But in 1996, Scott found his calling. That year, Scott was hired as Director of Education and Safety for the Georgia Branch, Associated General Contractors (AGC). There, he learned about the construction industry’s need for motivated, trained, quality workers.

Scott joined CEFGA in 1998. Under his leadership, CEFGA has received national recognition for its annual CareerExpo and SkillsUSA State Championships, which draws more than 7,000 attendees annually; and its Construction Ready Program, which has trained and placed more than 500 residents in the construction industry since 2014.

A Florida native, Scott moved to Statesboro, Georgia in 1989 to attend Georgia Southern University, where he earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science. He also met his wife there. While working out at Gold’s Gym, Scott spotted Kara Martin on a StairMaster. Scott and Kara celebrated their 20th Anniversary in 2015. Today, they live in Decatur, Georgia and have two beautiful children, Martin (age 9) and Sophie (age 6).

Scott’s favorite quote is one by Walt Disney: “It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.”

Scott Shelar President & CEO

Scott has held many different jobs throughout his life, including paper boy on the icy roads of Washington D.C.; lifeguard on the sunny beaches of St. Augustine, Florida; sports writer under the bright lights of high school football in South Georgia; and communications manager for the Atlanta Paralympic Games.

But in 1996, Scott found his calling. That year, Scott was hired as Director of Education and Safety for the Georgia Branch, Associated General Contractors (AGC). There, he learned about the construction industry’s need for motivated, trained, quality workers.

Scott joined CEFGA in 1998. Under his leadership, CEFGA has received national recognition for its annual CareerExpo and SkillsUSA State Championships, which draws more than 7,000 attendees annually; and its Construction Ready Program, which has trained and placed more than 500 residents in the construction industry since 2014.

A Florida native, Scott moved to Statesboro, Georgia in 1989 to attend Georgia Southern University, where he earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science. He also met his wife there. While working out at Gold’s Gym, Scott spotted Kara Martin on a StairMaster. Scott and Kara celebrated their 20th Anniversary in 2015. Today, they live in Decatur, Georgia and have two beautiful children, Martin (age 9) and Sophie (age 6).

Scott’s favorite quote is one by Walt Disney: “It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.”

Tina Robison Vice President, Operations and Administration tina.robison@cefga.org

Jamie Buck
 Vice President, Construction Ready jamie.buck@cefga.org

Zach Fields Vice President, K12 Pipeline zach.fields@cefga.org

Veda White Student Success Manager, Construction Ready veda.white@cefga.org

Sandra Mathis Executive Assistant, Operations and Administration sandra.mathis@cefga.org

Alexis Muir Career Coach/Retention Specialist, Construction Ready alexis.muir@cefga.org

Matthew White Director of Teacher Support, K12 Pipeline matthew.white@cefga.org

Latosha Ford Outreach & Recruitment Specialist, Construction Ready latosha.ford@cefga.org

Jessie Sadlowsky Training Director, Construction Ready jessie.sadlowsky@cefga.org

Anthony Welch
 Lead 
Site Manager, Construction Ready anthony.welch@cefga.org

Brian Ayiteyfio Site Manager, Construction Ready brian.ayiteyfio@cefga.org

Daniel Jean-Baptiste Site Manager, Construction Ready daniel.jean-baptiste@cefga.org

Board of Directors – 2018-2019

Dan Smith New South Construction Co. (Board Chair)

Dave Tzimenatos McKenney's, Inc. (Chair-elect)

George Heitz Astra Group (Treasurer)

Will Etheredge (Secretary) JE Dunn Construction

Margaret Rauber Winter Construction

Tony Varamo MetroPower (Immediate Past Chair)

Eddie Barnett E.A. Barnett Group

Eddie Clayton Southern Company

Michael Hatcher Sovereign Construction & Development

Elliot Hunt DPR Construction

Jody Klodner Marek Interior Systems

Dave Moellering Georgia Highway Contractors Association

Rod Owen C.C. Owen Tile

Natalie Kelly Brasfield & Gorrie

Ray Rodriguez C.W. Matthews Contracting Co.

Calvin Pate Harrison Contracting

Tim Tracy Pyramid Masonry

Bryson Barnes Bryson Constructors

Ben Watkins McCarthy Building Companies

Paul Bryant H.J. Russell & Company

Patrick Stephens Eckardt Electric

CEFGA Supporters